Back to All Events

Come Life, Come Death, I Care Not – A Musical Tour of Jacobean London

Presented at St. Stephen’s by Les Canards Chantants and Parthenia

Solo voice ensemble LES CANARDS CHANTANTS join forces with PARTHENIA, a Consort of Viols, to perform music by English Renaissance composer Michael East. The program is drawn entirely from East's Third Set of Books, first published in 1610, and containing anthems, madrigals, neapolitans and pastorals for voices and viols, as well as a cycle of eight remarkable viol fantasias.

About Les Canards Cantants:


Les Canards Chantants is an American solo-voice ensemble specializing in Renaissance polyphony. The group consists of 6 talented singers based in Philadelphia:

Julie Bosworth, soprano
Eric Brenner, countertenor
Janna Critz, mezzo soprano
Robin Bier, contralto
Jacob Perry, tenor
Graham Bier, bass


About Parthenia:


The viol quartet Parthenia brings early music into the present with its repertoire that animates ancient and fresh- commissioned contemporary works with a ravishing sound and a remarkable sense of ensemble. These early music stars include:

Beverly Au
Ros Morley
Larry Lipnik
Lisa Terry
Motomi Igarashi